Treat Your Customer Like a Seven-Year-Old

In sales, we work with an intentional sense of urgency. In customer service, we aim to solve problems while providing an efficient and seamless experience for the customer. In our efforts we overlook the keys to excellent support, possibly because they’re so elementary. It took spending just 45 minutes with my seven-year-old son, after a long workweek, to recognize what is so often missing.

Listen to what they’re saying, don’t just hear what’s being said.
When my son says, “Can we play in my room?” he’s pulling me away from my work station. He knows if I’m at my computer, I’ll respond – but I won’t really be present. Customers want that same undivided attention. They want you to listen to what they want/need, not be distracted by metrics or only picking out key points that will lead you to what your sales pitch should be aimed toward.

Start each interaction with open ears and by giving your full attention to the customer. Doing so will allow you, in customer support, to solve the problem correctly and fully the first round, and in sales, will reveal what the customer truly wants – saving you time in the long run.

Understand their perspective.
Sometimes, you cannot give them what they want. Every company (and parent) has its limitations; however, knowing that you understand can make all the difference in their satisfaction. Be empathetic and at the end of the experience, they may not be completely happy with the result, but I guarantee they’ll recognize that you sincerely tried your best.

Don’t just say it, because they’ll know you’re just saying it, feel it. Put yourself in their shoes and situation, and imagine how you’d feel if you had their experience. If I were a seven-year-old boy who wanted more than anything to go to Disneyland tomorrow, it would be crushing to hear it’s on the other side of the country. If I were excited to try out my new product, I’d been anxiously awaiting, and I broke it getting it out of the packaging, I’d feel like a seven-year-old who couldn’t go to Disneyland. If I’m remodeling my house, walk into the store and see the perfect dining room set, only to find out it’s out of my price range – again, Disneyland.

Recognize their knowledge.
The customer, and the seven-year-old, may not always be right, but while you’re the expert in knowledge of your company’s policies and products, they are the expert on their situation. Beyond that, they’re likely to have studied up before talking to you. Don’t dismiss what they say because you are confident in your stance.

Listen to them (yes, more listening) because you just may learn something. If you do learn something, or even if you already knew but they have a valid point, acknowledge that. They love to hear, “You’re right!” even when it’s followed by a “but”.

Don’t make elaborate excuses.
Excuses sound like just that, excuses. Skip the reasons of why you can’t go to the movies at 10:00 pm on a school night – er, why your response was delayed, or you can’t honor that price – apologize, and tell them what you ARE going to do. Move forward instead of focusing on where you couldn’t meet their need.

In support, I apologize for xyz and let them know that I’m there now and am going to solve this immediately; in sales, I let them know that we’re going to find something equally as awesome to suit their needs. If you cannot solve it, because it’s a unicorn, present an alternate solution that will lead to the same outcome, or an alternative but comparable product.

Let them know you appreciate them.
Don’t treat the ending of each experience as if you’ve done them a favor by solving the issue, or finding the perfect product for their need. That’s our job, which we wouldn’t have if it weren’t for them. They know it, we know it, but to say it can make the difference between a loyal customer, and a single sale.

Expressing your gratitude for their business and time is the equivalent of giving your child a hug and telling them you love them. If a child feels like a bother, they’re going to quit asking you to play, and we all know that happens too soon naturally. If a customer is made to feel like they’re a nuisance, they are taking their business elsewhere. Don’t let them leave without a “hug”.

Leave a comment